Invest SVG Helpdesk




St. Vincent and the Grenadines is an independent parliamentary democracy and member of the Commonwealth of Nations. The Nation achieved independence on October 27th 1979. Our parliamentary and legislative systems are derived from the British model with fifteen (15) elected representatives and six (6) senators. These senators are appointed by the Governor General on the advice of the Prime Minister. The parliament serves a maximum five year (5) term of office. However, the Prime Minister may call elections at anytime.

Queen Elizabeth II is the head of State (since 6th February 1952) and is represented on the island by a Governor General Sir Fredrick Nathaniel Ballantyne (since 2nd September 2002)

Political Parties

There are two dominant political parties on the island, the ruling Unity Labor Party (ULP) under the leadership of the Hon. Ralph E. Gonsalves (since 29th March 2001) and opposition the New Democratic Party lead by the Hon. Godwin Friday.

There is also the Green Party lead by Mr. Ivan O’Neil and the Democratic Republican Party under the leadership of Mrs. Anesia Baptiste. 

Add to: Email this Page Share
In Government

Contact Us
Invest SVG
2nd Floor
Administrative Bldg.
Bay Street
P.O. Box 2442 Kingstown
St. Vincent & The Grenadines

Tel: 1 784 457 2159
       1 784 456 2688


Find us on

Privacy Statement  |  Terms Of Use
Copyright 2010 - InvestSVG